Customer Reviews for New Zealand Venison & Potato

New Zealand Venison & Potato

The gorgeous yet rugged landscape of New Zealand yields fit and healthy wildlife that dogs lived off of for eons. Inspired by this ancient cycle, Eukanuba created New Zealand Venison & Potato formula, a natural dog food with vitamins and minerals featuring 100% Natural Venison as the #1 ingredient – how Mother Nature intended. She also approve of the fact that it includes no meat by-products or corn. Instead, Eukanuba adds amino acids and vitamin E, plus potato as a healthy carbohydrate source that is easy to digest.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 31 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5(100%) based on recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for New Zealand Venison & Potato
Review 1 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

New Zealand Venison and Potato

Posted byBlumax
onOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California, USA
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
Life stage:Adult (18 mos - 7 yrs)
We have two small dogs (Pom and Yorkie). Due to severe dental issues one of our girls had to have all of her teeth pulled. Our Vet said she would need to be on wet food for the rest of her life. Prior to that she grew up on the Venison and Potato dry food. Well we TRIED to get her to eat wet foods but she refused it time after time. She still eats the dry food (no added fluid and no teeth) and thrives on it. We tried another ultra high brand, but the Yorkie just spit out the bits and only ate the main part. Both of our girls are doing well and both thoroughly enjoy the food. We let them eat when they want and occasionally the Yorkie will tell my wife that she wants fresh food!!! They have trained us right!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Love this food

Posted byDylan
onAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:FL
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
Life stage:Adult (18 mos - 7 yrs)
My mini pincher has very bad allergies and he was on prescription dog food from the vet which was very costly almost $100 a bag. After doing research, trial, and error I found your product.. He has lost patches of hair in the past when trying other dog foods. He's has no effects whatsoever and I am very pleased. The only thing that I would ask is if you could send coupons out once in a while.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

No More Itching & Scratching

Posted bydmpweb
onMay 17, 2012
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:92101
Breed size:Medium (10-25 kg/20-50 lbs)
We moved to California about 4 years ago, and since that move, our dog began scratching, flaking, and chewing constantly. We tried bathing, medication and switching his food several times.....but all to no avail. Then we switched to the New Zealand Venison & Potato. We found that within a week, our dog wasn't scratching any more. And within a few weeks, his skin and hair were not just recovered, but looking better than it ever had. He's been on the food now for almost half a year, and he is a MUCH happier and healthier dog. Thank you Eukanuba!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

First dry food that my dog likes!!

Posted bynavynail
onJune 9, 2011
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:96786
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
I got a shelter dog one year ago and I have been struggling to find a food for him this whole year. I had a coupon for your product and just went into petco to redeem it thinking another bag of food that I will have to mix with real food to just finish. When I got it home and put it in his dish he devorered the scoop I put in so I put another and he ate that also. I was so impressed. He eats his dry food everyday now and is so happy. His skin issues are also clearing up. Thank you for such a good product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Best food ever!

Posted byPrincessDana
onJune 5, 2011
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My 2 year old Chocolate Lab, Koda has been on Eukanuba since i brought him home at 8 weeks. We first started with Lamb and Rice formula. He liked it but he didn't love it. So i looked at other formulas and other brands of food. Koda has allergies to beef and chicken. I went holistic and salmon. It was disastrous. He was miserable for 2 months. I decided to go back to Eukanuba. My dog is bow legged and he has to keep the weight off. I checked out the Eukanuba website for some suggestions. Eukanuba Wild came up. Because of my bad experience with salmon as the main protien i decided on Venison. He LOVED it. He eats it right out of his food storage container and spends lots of time playing with the empty bag. More importantly, it keeps him lean. I couldn't be more happy with his food.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Excellent Dog Food!

Posted byBuster
onMay 1, 2011
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:85340
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
This dog food is the only dog food my elderly dog eats and loves and at the same time helps his overly dry skin. other dog foods do not stop him from scratching and making himself bleed.
He is part black lab and part St Bernard and is a very large dog. He is now 14 years old and other than his skin he is in great health.
I definitely recommend this food to other dog owners!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Love this food!!!!

Posted byBassetmom
onDecember 30, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:91324
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Just found out this will be released to the stores on Jan 17th....YAY!!!! Found out that Iams has a food similar to this that is in the stores now...Healthy Naturals Chicken...I will use this until the other one is in stores......
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Only food my dog eats without getting sick

Posted byTXRN
onOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
This is the only food I have found that my dog can eat without getting sick afterward. Unfortunately it was recalled a couple months ago and I have been told it will not be on the shelf until January of next year. PLEASE bring it back sooner, I can't get my dog to eat anything but people food...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Replaced Hypoallergenic Food

Posted byLU621
onJune 15, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nutritional Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:77382
Breed size:Medium (10-25 kg/20-50 lbs)
One of my dogs has food allergies, we think. He was vomitting regularly on his regular diet with no explanation so the vet put him on a hypoallergenic diet based on some blood work. He HATED it and wouldn't eat. He just didn't want it. I looked for a food that had unique proteins to try to find a replacement to get him eating again. He absolutely loves the Venison and Potato and looks forward to eating again. And his recently adopted sister loves it too. Both have beautiful shiny coats!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Great but EXPENSIVE!

Posted byBuddysmom
onMarch 14, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:48360
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Food allergies are a horrific problem for Buddy, to the point of our vet running out of options besides pain killers to calm the pain and itch he endures from them. Within one day of eating the New Zealand Venision & Potato Formula, we knew we found "gold"! He began a new life, with no pain or itch. However, the price has risen so much that we won't be able to purchase this much longer. Great Formula, too high of a price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

The Best Food Ever!

Posted bycruellaplc
onFebruary 24, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:60013
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
After trying several foods, I discovered Eukanuba Naturally Wild. My dogs LOVE it and can't wait for me to open the bag. Within the first couple of weeks both my dog's coats were beautifully shiny and soft. There is a noticeable difference. They seem so much more energetic too. Thanks for a quality product. I love your ingredients label!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

A dog food to get excited about!

Posted byiluvmybully
onJanuary 28, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Keller, TX
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Our bulldog just loves his new dog food! He gets excited when its time to eat and seems happy and healthy. I feel good about giving him a tasty product that is also so healthy and natural.
Only downside is that this food doesnt smell too great to me. But, as long as he is happy and loving it, I will just cover my nose and keep it coming!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Great Food

Posted byBestDogs
onJanuary 26, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:80003
Breed size:Medium (10-25 kg/20-50 lbs)
My Dogs have been on many different foods. This is hands down the best there is. My one dog was a little overweight and has slimmed down a lot since eating the Venison. He spend most of the day sleeping on the couch, but now he has a TON of energy and wants to play outside all the time. Both of my Dogs coats are so smooth and soft now and many people complaint on it. I will use this food forever!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Best alternative to prescription!

Posted byORKopperKlassik
onDecember 12, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:61822
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Roughly a year ago, I started to notice my Lab losing weight and getting really thin. At that point, he'd been on the same food for the first 8 years of his life. The vet became concerned and switched him over to a sensitive stomach formula, as she suspected a food allergy. He quickly began gaining weight and looking better, so he stayed on that until about 6 weeks ago. I noticed that he was getting bald patches on his back and his hair was starting to fall out in clumps. A second vet also presumed food allergy and prescribed a food that was going to cost me roughly $180/month just to feed my Lab. A quick trip to my awesome locally owned feed store and Eukanuba dealer to find options against this expensive prescription food landed me with the Naturally Wild line of foods. I have been feeding my Lab the Venison and Potato for about 3 weeks now and he looks great. All of his hair has grown back, his coat looks a lot better, the discharge in his ears has cleared up and the smell is gone. By switching to Eukanuba, I'm getting faster results than I did with the prescription food, its easier to buy and I'm saving over 70% of the cost of the prescription.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Thank God for this food!

Posted byLaura022467
onAugust 28, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:46303
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
I have 2 dogs, an 8 yr old and a 6 yr old, both shephard/collie mixes. About 6 months ago my 6 yr. old started itching all of the time,his coat and skin were getting dry. We gave him baths with special shampoo's, applied lotions and sprays. We took him to the vet and she said he had atopic dermatitis and that he would need steroid treatments (which are expensive). He was just getting worse, he was losing his hair and his skin was turning black. He had scabs around his mouth, tail and back. He started getting an odor from his ears and body. We went online and researched and researched everything about atopic dermatitis. We tried everything! We finally came across something about food allergies in dogs. We figured it was our last hope so we did more research and came across Eukanuba's Venison and Potato Formula, checked the ingredients and decided to try it. I am SO glad we did! My dog has been on it for only 4 weeks now and his hair has grown back, his skin is turning pink again, no more odor, no more scabs or dry skin, 80% less itching and he just keeps getting better and better everyday. We didn't realize that it could be the food since we have had him for 6 years and he never had any problems before and my other dog is fine. I am so happy I could cry, I hated seeing my dog go through that misery and felt so helpless. I would highly recommend this food!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

The boys love this food!

Posted byBassetlover
onJuly 6, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:27019
Breed size:Medium (10-25 kg/20-50 lbs)
I have 4 dogs, 2 Bassets, one Basset mix (my foster boy), and a Beagle. One has ear problems, one is overweight, and 2 are very picky eaters. While searching for dog food at the pet store, I saw the Venison & Potato formula and I thought why not. I tried a small bag and WOW!!!! My dogs, all of them, love it. I had to go back and buy a larger bag. Even the two picky ones eat it up so quick. It's a bit pricey for my pocketbook, but it's worth it to see these babies eat. My foster, one of the picky ones, loves it so much and it makes me feel so good to see him eat. Maybe he'll get some much needed "meat on his bones". Thanks for this great food!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Champion Boxer gets a boost of energy!

Posted byThrowingCopper
onJune 30, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:95829
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
CH Charmer's Gladiator, aka Max, just got a little leaner and lot happier. He was a hefty 80 pounds for the past few years and I thought he looked fine. But when my breeder said he could stand to lose a few, I decided to try the NZ Venison. Max has dropped 8 pounds in 3 months and looks spectacular. I had no idea how much fillers were in other blends! He is also much more alert and attentive.
I brought him to a recent boxer gathering and cannot tell you how many compliments his coat and buff stature received. He is 6 years old and looks like he's only 2!
Thanks, Eukanuba.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Vension & Potato

Posted bydallas49
onApril 30, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:75202
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
My dog is totally in love with the Venison & Potato. I have to hide it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Scrumptuous dry food!

Posted byCalybug
onApril 30, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:32311
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
I have two dogs that have always refused to eat whatever kind of dry food I buy them, so they have always lived off of wet food and some dry food mixed in. I grow tired of buying all of those cans and I wanted to start feeding my dogs a better quality pet food. Although this brand is pricey, it is well worth it. I don't have to mix in any wet food at all with this food to get my dogs to eat it, they love it plain!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for New Zealand Venison & Potato

Awesome

Posted byhoels
onApril 16, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:30168
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
I have exceptionally finicky eaters. I brought home a small bag of Eukanuba's Naturally Wild New Zealand Venison & Potato, and it was gone by the next morning. All 3 dogs LOVED it. I will never buy anything else!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>