Customer Reviews for German Shepherd

German Shepherd

Eukanuba German Shepherd is specifically made to nourish the overall health, including digestive health, mobility, skin and coat health of German Shepherds. This formula provides a special blend of vegetable fiber including FOS (fructooligosaccharides), for intestinal health and consistent stools; L-Carnitine, a natural fat burner, to help maintain a healthy weight; and high levels of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate to support their joints. Feeding Eukanuba German Shepherd will help your dog be as healthy and vibrant as your German Shepherd was bred to be.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 21 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4.71 out of 5(95%) based on recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for German Shepherd
Review 1 for German Shepherd

FINALLY! No more itching!

Posted byyouknowtheone
onJune 5, 2012
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:97123
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We adopted 2 black shepherds a few years back and both seemed to be very sensitive to just about any brand dog food, including homemade dog food, that we tried for them. Constant itching! We noticed an immediate difference when we changed to Eukanuba and I am so sorry for not trying it much sooner! Much happier and healthier dogs! Thanks, Eukanuba, for figuring it out!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for German Shepherd

What a Difference!

Posted bymaggiesmommy
onMay 18, 2012
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:28590
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
My German Sheperd was just not looking like a healthy Sheperd should! Her coat was dull, she wasn't putting on muscle, and she just seemed sluggish. Our vet said she was healthy but I knew something more was needed. I found Eukanuba German Sheperd formula and decided to try it. WOW! After just 3 weeks my Maggie has a beautiful coat, is spirited, and has started gaining a healthy weight. I have owned Sheperds for years and am amazed at what a simple diet change has done for this one!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for German Shepherd

Made all the difference

Posted byGShep
onFebruary 9, 2012
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Luna, my 2 year old German Shepherd has always had issues digesting foods. When I changed her to Eukanuba German Shepherd I noticed a big change in not only her digestion but in her hair coat too. She loves it and is always begging for more. I couldn't be happier with the results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for German Shepherd

my dog is loving it.

Posted byapollo
onDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:35057
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I am very impressed with eukanuba german shepherd.I have tried other dog foods and never done so well as eukanuba has.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for German Shepherd

Great Results

Posted bySoldier
onJune 14, 2011
Overall rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:60074
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
We had tried 4 other foods, including other breed specific brands that worked great for our others dogs, but this dog was difficult. Solider itched constantly. He would keep me from sleeping with the never ending scratching. I finally got my husband to agree to try this food and slowly switch him over...within 2 weeks, he was a different dog. We have never purchased a low grade food, and were worried this might not make the grade. It does and then some! Did I mention our very picky eater even likes the food? I cannot wait to try the Rott version when I get my puppy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for German Shepherd

Awesome Food

Posted byHappyMac
onMay 17, 2011
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:28358
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Our Belgian Malinois, Trista, has had the worst stomach issues. Everytime we turned around, it seemed like we were going to the vet. We finally narrowed it down that it was her food. The vet recommended a chicken based food. We tried several different brands, but still had an issue. We spent more time reading labels than I thought we ever would. We bought the 4 lb. bag of Eukanuba German Shepherd, as it stated on the bag that it was also ideal for Belgian Malinois. I read that the main ingredient was chicken and that the food helped with digestion. I was ready to give it a try. In a week's time, we could tell a different. Trista gets excited about meal time and her stomach issues have resolved. Thank you Eukanuba!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for German Shepherd

Thank You

Posted byTNTCONN
onApril 1, 2011
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:28539
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
I rescued a 3 year old German Shepherd from the local pound, she was abused and used to have puppies constintly. She had hairloss, heart worms and other parasites as well as a sinus infection. When I swtiched to your brand for German Shepherds I notice hair regrowth and general health improvement incunjunction with antiboitics. Today she is a very loved happy and healthly dog and still eats the same food. I have also noticed that she does not shed as much which is added bonus! Thank you for such a great product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for German Shepherd

Excellent dog food

Posted byanya
onNovember 17, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:78640
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
I have had german shephards my whole life and this breed specific dog food is the best by far. My dogs look great and are in excellent health. Sadly I have had a hard time finding the german shephard dog food. I have tried several different pet stores and they are usually out and I have to purchase the large breed which is still good but I prefer the breed specific. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for German Shepherd

Not a Shepherd

Posted byJuneau
onOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Juneau is a 1 yr old Alaskan Malamute. Not a German Shepherd, but this food has done wonders for him. Much like the G.S. Malamutes also have a very sensitive stomach. Juneau has been battling diarrhea for most of his life. We have tried dozens of different foods, prescription and over the counter. Nothing seemed to help. Until I tried this food, and within a week his stools were solid, and staying solid. As a veterinarian technician I know the importance of good nutrition, and this food definitely hits the mark. FOS (fructooligosaccharides) I believe is what has made all the difference. Even though it is customized for the G.S. it can also be used for other breeds with similar breed problems. I love it, and so does Juneau the Alaskan Malamute !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for German Shepherd

This food makes my dog feel good!

Posted byGSDLVR316
onApril 5, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:67211
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
My German Shepherd has a VERY sensitive stomach. We started him on Purina ProPlan Puppy formula, (which I do consider pretty good dog food and I'm sure is fine for other dogs). Mine just couldn't eat it. About every 2-3 days he wouldn't eat and his belly would be making lots of gurgling noises. He also had really dry itchy and flaky skin, and was scratching so much he was leaving sores. Once we switched him to Eukanuba's German Shepherd formula he started eating every day no problems, and his coat is much shinier and smoother. He's been eating this food for almost a year now and it has done wonders with him as far as his coat and how he feels after he eats. I would absolutely recommend this food, or any Eukanuba product to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for German Shepherd

THANK GOODNESS!!!!

Posted byMooseMomma
onJanuary 29, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:72704
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Finally a dog food he will eat without mixing it with wet food!! Moose has always been a very picky eater, but as soon as we switched to this formula that all changed! He finally eats on a normal schedule and is at a normal 90 pounds. He looks wonderful and his stinky breath is finally going away. His stool is solid and he just seems so much healthier. His coat is so shiny and looks like a brand new dog! He is so much happier and so are we!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for German Shepherd

From the Pickiest GSD on Earth.

Posted byKaie
onJanuary 26, 2010
Overall rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:32955
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
This is the ONLY food (dry or wet) that I have been able to get my GSD to actually eat. She is more active (didn't think that was possible) than she has been on any other kibble. Thank you Eukanuba.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for German Shepherd

Relieved

Posted bysearchandrescue
onDecember 29, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:73010
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
My German Shephard/Malamute has been in and out of the Vet office his whole first year for diarrea. He was on several different pills for it and is worm free. He went through a test for intestinal disease and was negitive. I needed a dog food that was wheat gluten free and found Eukanuba for German Shephards. He has been on it for 1 month now, and what a change. Havent had a problem since. I sure could have prevented everything from the start if I would of had him on the Eukanuba for puppies. Training sure has gotten alot more fun for him also. Thank you so much. Will not ever feed anything else to my dogs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for German Shepherd

Eukanuba German Shepherd

Posted bybreezer320
onMay 11, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:30622
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
We recently took our 2 year old German Shepherd to our vet for her annual check up. The vet said her muscle tone, hair, weight & condition was "perfect" and that what we were feeding her definitely agreed with her. We have been feeding the German Shepherd formula for a year now & are sometimes too busy to give her the extreme amount of exercise she needs, so the food obviously helps keep her in condition! We fed Eukanuba Puppy for the first year, so she's never had anything else. Thanks Eukanuba!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for German Shepherd

Best food out there!

Posted byTantra
onMay 4, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:55741
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Just wanted to let you know that I have been buying Eukanuba puppy & dog food for over 3 1/2 years. It began with a single coupon from my vet and their healthy start program with Eukanuba.
My oldest GSD loves Eukanuba - I tried another brand and it didn't go over so well so back to mixing to get back to full feedings of Eukanuba. Then about 7 months ago we got another German Shepherd and Eukanuba is all she has ever known. She is jet black top coat and it is as shiny as my black car! I have had no health problems and will continue to feed Eukanuba food - German Shepherd blend of course, even in the tough economy, as I believe it has improved their health and well being overall.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for German Shepherd

Posted byAnonymous
onMay 3, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:11427
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
I been using Eukanuba for the past 5 years. when I have my two german shepherd puppys now they are adult. I was a member since 2006. I breed my shepherd and I always recommend to the new owners to use the product .They are all natural . Full of vitamins ,Minerals and amino acids. My shepherds have great hair ,good disposition easy to train and have great digestion .I use to work in a health food and vitamins . All I know is that what humans take for health and nutrition purposes are in the Eukanuba . 100% All natural . I use Eukanuba formula for my puppies and as they grow I feed them puppys for large breed and I also recommend to new owners use puppy for large breed for 6 months and switch to the adult German Shepherd large breed.I see results of my shepherd breeds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for German Shepherd

The perfect food for my dog.

Posted byshepherd
onApril 1, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:80549
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
A year after we adopted our German Shepherd she started having digestion issues with the regular dog food we were giving her. My sister told me about Eukanuba and how it helped her Husky. I bought the Breed Specific German Shepherd and the digestion issues stopped overnight. She can't wait to be fed now and practically knocks me over trying to get to the bowl. What a wonderful product. Thank you so much from the both of us.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for German Shepherd

satisfied and relieved

Posted byshelby
onMarch 30, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:02747
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
I want to say how happy I am that I tried your product.I have 2/ 14month old German Shepherds,I have tried several different foods with the same result,constant vomiting and loose stool,I have been feeding them the Eukanuba Breed specific for 3 weeks and I can't believe the difference in their overall change,so much that I plan on changing my Lab's food to the breed specific.I want to thank you and I wish I had known of this before I had to go through so many different foods and vet bills.I can honestly say I will stay with Eukanuba.Also My Lab is expecting to deliver in May and I plan on purchasing the puppy food,again Thank you So much,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for German Shepherd

A noticeable improvement over other formulas

Posted byLoki
onNovember 6, 2008
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:20850
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
There is a huge difference between Eukanuba's large breed and their German Shepherd formula. I was skeptical about how different the German Shepherd formula could be from the large breed formula, but my only regret is that I waited so long to switch. If your shepherd is like mine, this formula will greatly reduce incidence of diarreha and loose stool. He loves eating the food and seems to have more energy. This is a great product and all German Shepherd owners should try it for themselves, so they can see the difference in their Shepherd. I had tried the lamb and rice formula, the large breed formula, even other brands, but Eukanuba's German Shepherd is by far the best.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for German Shepherd

I cant believe the difference

Posted byrealmoose
onNovember 1, 2008
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:53143
Breed size:Large (over 25 kg/over 50 lbs)
I was pretty hesitant to try another dog food as I had tried quite a few and my dog still had dietary upsets all the time. But I received a coupon in the mail a few weeks ago for Eukanuba for German Shepherds and thought I would give it a try. I followed the instructions for switching food and am really amazed at the change. I'm not a person that usually raves about a product, but it really does what it claims. The constant diarrhea has stopped and he seems to have allot more energy.
Thanks from me and my "shadow"
Realmoose
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>