Customer Reviews for Dachshund Formula

Dachshund Formula

Eukanuba Dachshund is specifically made to nourish a Dachshund's overall health including their healthy back and immune system. This food naturally provides high levels of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate to support healthy joints and mobility, powerful antioxidants such as vitamin E to help support the immune system and L-Carnitine, to help maintain a healthy weight. Feeding Eukanuba Dachshund will help your dog be as healthy, vibrant and active as your Dachshund was bred to be.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 23 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4.7 out of 5(100%) based on recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Dachshund Formula
Review 1 for Dachshund Formula

Excessive cost increase of Eukanuba

Posted byDachshundLover
onApril 12, 2014
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
Life stage:Adult (18 mos - 7 yrs)
The recent reduction in package size and increase in selling price is unacceptable, even for a product as good as Eukanuba Dachshund breed specific formula ... For the first time in 25 years I am motivated to find a more fairly price food for my dogs... P&G needs to reevaluate its marketing plan ....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dachshund Formula

Change in packaging

Posted byShawn
onMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
Life stage:Geriatric (7 yrs +)
This is a great food and I would definitely recommend it to those with dachshunds, but I am seriously considering changing brands after the recent change in packaging size (14lbs down to 12 lbs) and the increase in cost (by $5.00) at the store I purchase it from. This change is far outpacing inflation (30% increase per pound). Very disappointebd.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dachshund Formula

Amazing Product

Posted byDoxieLover630
onJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:53532
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This is a great product! I am constantly getting compliments on my mini dachshund's coat adn how healthy he appears. Marley James is very healthy, has great teeth and is very active for a 3 year old. The vet asked me at his last check up how often I brush his teeth. I informed her only once a week when he gets his baths. She was shocked and said his teeth look as if I do them every day. She was also impressed with how silky soft Marley James is. This is a great product and I refer it to others all the time. I just got a Beagle and have her on puppy Eukanuba and got my parents to switch from Science Diet for their 2 year old yellow lab. I have had great success and will continue to get others to use it!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dachshund Formula

So Many Compliments

Posted byZeppomom
onJune 30, 2013
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:33425
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
My four year old mini dachshund gets constant comments about his beautiful, shiny coat and how healthy he looks. Even my vet makes remarks about how good he looks. Most people want to know what special tricks I use to make his coat look so shiny and healthy but I can only reply that I have been feeding him the Eukanuba dachshund formula since he was 8 weeks old. He seems to love the taste and he has never had a weight issue like many other dachshunds I have seen. He stays slim, trim, active and healthy and it is as easy as providing him with the Eukanuba diet he loves to eat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dachshund Formula

Miracle worker for my Doxie!

Posted byDoxie2005Lov
onMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:27407
Breed size:Medium (10-25 kg/20-50 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had been told by two Vets for over 3 years that my dog Max had grinding hips. One suggested taking him to a surgeon. I had just became disabled and could not afford at the time and since he wasn't having problems, I put it off. I decided to change his food because the Dachsund formula seemed to offer what he needed and he also has a sensitive stomach. Two years later at Max's annual check up, the Vet came back after looking at Max and asked what had I done for him because his hips no longer were grinding. He thought I had him operated on. I said no it's just his Eukanuba Dachsund formula dog food. He was amazed and I was thrilled as I was expecting to hear him with the normal warning about his hips. Thanks Eukanuba for a wonderful product allowing my 8 year old Dachsund to be playfull and active still. I would highly recommend for all Dachsunds. And an added bonus: They love it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dachshund Formula

Fantastic Product

Posted byIADoxie
onFebruary 20, 2013
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:52803
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My year and half old Miniature Dachshund loves this product. While traveling, yes if Delta flys there she goes with. I have switched to the different canned Eukanuba products. She still prefers the blend for her. Her coat always looks shiny black, like she just took a bath. But as all Doxie owners know, no Doxie really loves the water not in a bowl to drink.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dachshund Formula

The Dachshund's Best-friend

Posted byMsOwen
onOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have 3 dachshunds and i have been feeding them dachshund formula since my first Dachshund was 6 months old, every-time i visit the vet he tells me how great my dogs look and that my dogs are "how dachshunds should look". They love anything edible but really love this food. I recommend it to everyone with a Dachshund.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dachshund Formula

Won't eat anything else!

Posted bymilesmom
onSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:78666
Breed size:Medium (10-25 kg/20-50 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I rescued my Dachshund about 3 years ago. I immediately wanted to get him started out on a diet that would promote health and nutrition, because Dachshunds are known for having back problems and weight issues. I was relieved to find Eukanuba's brand of breed specific dog food for Dachshunds! The price is affordable and Miles is always getting compliments on how shiny his coat is, how muscular and in great physical health he is and how he is a generally happy dog! I have tried other dog foods over the years, and I continue going back to Eukanuba's breed specific for Dachshunds for a reason. Miles won't eat the other stuff. He must know what is best for him! My mom now has a Dachshund named Inches and she only feeds her Eukanuba as well! We are all big fans, Miles and Inches included!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dachshund Formula

Where's the food?

Posted bydoxie2010
onOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:33613
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
I have had 4 doxies in the past 30 years and all have had Eukanuka products and they have done very well on it and they never get tried of eating it. As of today 10/31/2010 the product (dachshund eukanuba) is not available in the stores due to formula changes and I believe that could have been avoided ...and maybe the company could inform the stores when the product will again be available. Customers like myself only have a month's supply and I'm just about out...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dachshund Formula

Love the breed specific formula!!

Posted byjmcq1105
onSeptember 28, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alabama
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
We have 5 dachshunds and are very concerned about keeping their backs strong, and keeping them healthy. We have had very good results from this food and we suggest it to everyone we know. I love the fact that it is loaded with vitamins and especially ones that are good for the joints. I suggest all dachshund breeders try this formula!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dachshund Formula

Great food!

Posted bySchnitzelsmom
onSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:83716
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
My boys have been on Eukanuba since puppyhood, starting with the canned puppy food & now on the breed-specific kibble. Schnitzel had back surgery last year for a ruptured disc, and today you can't tell there was anything wrong with him! I contribute at least part of that to the Dachshund formula. Food is always available, but the boys don't gorge & both are maintaining a healthy weight and are active at 5 & 8 years old.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dachshund Formula

This is a great food for dogs!!

Posted byBoobas
onSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have been feeding my dog Eukanuba for six years,since he was a puppy, and he is healthy and beautiful. I keep food in his bowl, but he only eats when he is hungrey, never gorges. His vet says he is a poster dog as for how a Dachshund should look. I contribute his diet and exercise to his great figure and shiney coat. I was really excited when the breed specific formula came out. I trust that it will keep my dog healthy for many more years!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dachshund Formula

GREAT!

Posted byJust4Junior
onJune 19, 2010
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:84119
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
I purchased a 1 year old standard dachshund from a rescue recently. I tried a couple different brands that he simply refused to eat. I came across this product and figured I'd try it out. From the first few bites, my dog has been in love, in fact, he'll eat a few kibbles over a treat often! Already he seems more energetic, his coat is looking nice. Plus, as an owner, I feel good knowing he's getting just what he needs for his breed. Thanks Eukanuba!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dachshund Formula

Great for the skin!!

Posted by3DogFamily
onMarch 2, 2010
Overall rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:31907
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
My black & tan shorthair dachshund had awful, flaky, dandruff-like skin ... we attributed it to the weather at first, but then someone mentioned putting fish oil on her food. I'll call us lazy, so I decided to try looking for a food that already had fish oil in it ... found this breed specific food and tried it and boy, she loved it ... at first. I think she gets bored with food because now we are having to make her eat again, instead of chowing down like she did at first. She used to eat Kibbles & Bits before this food and I think that was probably the culprit of the nasty skin ... within just a couple of weeks, her skin was back to its silky smooth look! We love what this food does for her skin, I just wish she would chow down on it everytime it was put in front of her!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dachshund Formula

My doxies love it

Posted byLisa
onAugust 10, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:76017
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
Both my doxies have sensitive stomachs, and were on Iams sensitive stomach formula, and then canned food, but my vet recommended the Dachshund formula and they both have so much more energy, my older dog runs more as she is no longer overweight and having problems with her back. I love this food, and so do my babies!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dachshund Formula

they love it!

Posted byDoxies3
onAugust 2, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:85308
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
I know dachshunds are voracious eaters but I always try to give them the best. I was very pleased when Eukanuba made breed specific food.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dachshund Formula

Dachshund Formula

Posted byAggie
onApril 15, 2009
Overall rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Noticeable Results
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nutritional Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:78247
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
I have two brothers and have been feeding them Dachshund Formula since they were 1 year old. For the most part I'm pleased, but there are a few things that I'm not overly pleased with: 1. Both dogs are overweight--they each only get 1/3 of a cup twice a day, and one small snack a day. I've switched to 1/2 weight control formula and 1/2 dachshund formula--it hasn't helped. The both always appear to be hungry--I know that's a breed-specific issue, but if I feed them any more, they'll gain more weight. I'm going to start adding green beans to their food. They both like raw vegetables and I do give them a small carrot and usually a piece of cauliflower or broccoli daily. 2. Both dogs have dry flakey skin. When I brush them, they look like it's snowed on them. I don't know why, but I would think a premium dog food would contain enough oil to help with skin care. Both dogs love the dog food and gobble it right down. As I said, overall I'm satisfied, but just two things that I think need a little attention.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dachshund Formula

Best food for Dachshunds

Posted byAnonymous
onApril 13, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Their is a reason why my babies look adorable, that is because they eat Eukanuba Dachshund formula. It's no wonder everywhere I do with them, everyone praises them, their bodys, their coat. This formula provides key ingredients to help my dogs get the vitamins they both need and at the same time, have a very good weight control. I would recommend Eukanuba formula to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dachshund Formula

this product is great but we need a break

Posted bydach3
onApril 2, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:78725
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
I have 3 dachshund who will not eat nothing else but Eukanuba dog food and treats. My vets says that they are in great health and they have a long life ahead of them.My vet noted that they have good healthy teeth , shiny coats , strong muscles and lots of energy. But in this tough times it is starting to get to the point that I will have to cut back on vet visits or treats or maybe even dog food. We need to see more sales or more coupons made available to the public.
HELP!!! Hungry Dach3
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dachshund Formula

PETE LIKES IT

Posted byJOHNEEBEGOOD
onApril 1, 2009
Overall rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeable Results
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nutritional Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pet Enjoyment
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:35475
Breed size:Small (up to 10 kg/20 lbs)
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Great job guys!! My 4 year old Dachshund Pete has been on Eukanuba since he was a puppy. Now that he is an adult I have switched to the breed specific Eukanuba Dachshund. He loves it .. Plus He gets the benefit of the joint protection that is so important in this breed..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>